Jumia Anniversary Deals

INEC declares APC’s Oyebanji, Winner Of Ekiti Governorship Election

0 0
Kindly Share This Story:

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Biodun Oyebanji of the All Progressives Congress winner of the 2022 Ekiti governorship election.

Mr Oyebanji polled a total of 187,057 votes to defeat his two challengers – Segun Oni of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) and Bisi Kolawole of the People’s Democratic Party.

The SDP emerged in second place with total votes of 82,211 while the PDP was third with 67,457 votes.

The Returning Officer for the election, Prof Kayode Adebowale, who is the Vice Chancellor, the University of Ibadan, announced the results.

Adebowale said, “Oyebanji, having scored the highest number of votes is hereby declared the winner and returned elected as the governor-elect of Ekiti State”

According to INEC, 988,923 registered voters were expected to participate in the exercise but out of the 360,753 votes cast, the total valid votes in the election were 351,865.

However, the independent observers said that the election which was largely peaceful was marred with reports of vote buying and violence.

Read Also:  We'll Push, Push Until You Win, President Buhari Assures Okonjo-Iweala

Some voters were also sighted scrambling for money during the election.





Average Rating

5 Star
4 Star
3 Star
2 Star
1 Star

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: