Jumia Anniversary Deals

Leaders of Southern, Middle Belt Insists on Power Shift in 2023

0 0
Kindly Share This Story:

Leaders of Southern and Middle Belt under the umbrella of Leaders’ of Southern and Middle Belt Leaders’ Forum has insisted on power shift to the South in the 2023 Presidential election.

In a communiqué on yesterday after the meeting chaired by Edwin Clark, the forum enjoined registered political parties in the country desirous of support from the four geopolitical zones within their sphere of influence to zone their respective presidential tickets to the South

The forum also maintained that the extant constitution and structure of Nigeria are lopsided and grossly flawed.
TVs and Audio Category

Below is the press release;

A meeting of the Southern and Middle Belt Leaders’ Forum (SMBLF), held on Thursday, 13th January 2022 in Abuja under the Chairmanship of the Leader and Elder Statesman, Chief Dr. E. K. Clark, OFR, CON.

In attendance at the meeting were delegations from the four regional socio-cultural organisations, that’s: Afenifere for the South West, Ohanaeze Ndigbo for the South East, Pan Niger Delta Forum (PANDEF) for the South-South and the Middle Belt Forum (MBF) for the Middle Belt.

Read Also:  Mambilla Power Project: My Hands are Clean - Zainab Ahmed

The delegations were led by Chief Ayo Adebanjo, leader of Afenifere, Professor George Obiozor, President-General of Ohanaeze Ndigbo, Dr. Pogu Bitrus, President of the Middle Belt Forum and Senator Emmanuel Ibok Essien, FNSE, National Chairman of Pan Niger Delta Forum, PANDEF.

2. The meeting was also attended by former Governors, Ministers, federal and state legislators, top politicians and professionals from the Southern and Middle Belt regions, including His Excellency, Obong Victor Attah, former Governor of Akwa Ibom, Chief Emmanuel Iwuanyanwu, Alaowei Broderick Bozimo, Senator Femi Okurounmu, Nze Ozichukwu Chukwu, Simon N. Okeke, OFR, Chief Supo Shonibare, Dr. Akin Fapohunda, Amb. Okey Emuchay, MFR, Senator Bassey Ewa Henshaw, Prof. G. G. Darah, Solomon Asemota, SAN, Dr. Alex Ogbonna, Mr. Mac Emakpore, Chief Douyi Douglas-Naingba, Mrs. Nella Andem-Rabana, SAN, Prof. Mrs. Chinwe Obaji, Maj. Gen. Henry Ayoola (Rtd), Engr. Ben Akaakar, Dr. Ebun Sonaiya, Comrade Jare Ajayi and Ken Robinson, among others.

3. The meeting extensively discussed various issues on the State of Affairs in the country, particularly, the security situation, Restructuring, preparations for the 2023 General Elections and Zoning.

Read Also:  Former President Obasanjo congratulates Biden, Harris on US election Victory

4. Arising therefrom, the meeting resolved as follows:

i. That the extant Constitution and Structure of Nigeria are grossly flawed and lopsided, accordingly, Forum restates its demand for the fundamental restructuring of the country by enacting a new Constitution that would enthrone equity, fairness and justice.*It must be One Nation, One System;

ii. Cites that the northern part of the country would have fully enjoyed the Office of the Presidency of the country for the full statutory period of 8 years by 2023, hence, the presidency should rotate to the South;


iv. Advices that any political party that does not zone its presidential ticket to the South should not expect support from the four regions;


V. Notes that the basis of any viable democracy, especially in a diverse and complex country such as Nigeria, is fair and even sharing of power;

Vi. Cautions the National Assembly to ONLY give consideration to Bills that would promote equity, justice, peace and national cohesion instead of issues that will exacerbate conflicts and crisis in the country.

Read Also:  Yakubu Hands Over To Mu’azu As Acting INEC Chairman

viii. Urges Governors and members of the National Assembly of the four regions to commit themselves to the subject of Restructuring;

ix. Reaffirms commitment to the unity of Nigeria, situated on the tenets of Equity, Fairness, Justice, and the principle of federalism.

4. The meeting was held in an atmosphere of peace and unanimous commitment to the decisions.

5. Done in ABUJA, this 13th Day of January 2022.
vi. Condemns the continued senseless killings of innocent citizens across the country by terrorists and criminals, especially in the North West Zone; calls on the government and security agencies to redouble efforts to safeguard the lives and property of Nigerians;


Chief Dr. E. K. Clark

, OFR, CON – Leader

Chief Ayo Adebanjo – Leader, Afenifere

Prof. George Obiozor  – President-General, Ohanaeze Ndigbo

Dr. Pogu Bitrus – National President, Middle Belt Forum

Average Rating

5 Star
4 Star
3 Star
2 Star
1 Star

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: