Mobile Category

President Buhari sacks Two Ministers, Reshuffles cabinet

0 0
Kindly Share This Story:

President Muhammadu Buhari has sacked two ministers from his cabinet formed on August 21, 2019.

The two cabinet members affected are Saleh Mamman, the minister of power; and Sabo Nanono, the minister of agriculture and rural development.

Femi Adesina, presidential spokesman, announced the termination of their appointment on Wednesday.

“In a statement to cabinet members during the Federal Executive Council meeting on Wednesday 1st September, President Buhari announced that Mohammed Sabo Nanono, Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development, and Engr. Sale Mamman, Minister of Power were leaving the cabinet.”

In the same vein, Dr. Mohammad Mahmood Abubakar, Minister of Environment, was redeployed to assume office as the Minister of Agriculture & Rural Development, while Engr. Abubakar D. Aliyu, Minister of State, Works & Housing will now be the Minister of Power.

The President said the changes were sequel to the “tradition of subjecting our projects and programs implementation to independent and critical self-review” through sector reporting during Cabinet meetings and at retreats.

Read Also:  APC wins Constituency bye-election in Bauchi state

He added that “these significant review steps have helped to identify and strengthen weak areas, close gaps, build cohesion and synergy in governance, manage the economy and improve the delivery of public good to Nigerians.”

President Buhari is not known for sacking his ministers or rejigging his cabinet until the end of his tenure.

He is the first Nigerian president since 1999 not to have rejigged his cabinet in a four-year tenure.

Average Rating

5 Star
4 Star
3 Star
2 Star
1 Star

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: