Mobile Category

Former Governor Seriake Dickson wins Bayelsa West Senatorial bye-election

0 0
Kindly Share This Story:

The Candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP and former Bayelsa State Governor, Seriake Dickson has won the Bayelsa West Senatorial bye-election with 115,257 votes.

The Returning Officer, Prof Ekechukwe, Okeke, Dean of Humanities, Federal University of Technology, Otuoke, returned Dickson as the Senator-elect having polled 115257 to defeat his closest opponent, former deputy Governor, Hon Peremobowei Ebebi of the APC who polled 17541.

APC polled 7,303 votes in Sagbama Local Government Area while PDP secured 68,056 votes.

In Ekeremor Local Government Area, it was the APC with 10,238 votes and PDP 47,201 votes.

The former Governor who spoke in his country home of Toru Orua shortly after his return dedicated the victory to God, the voters, Bayelsa, and the Ijaw nation.

He said that the quest for electoral reforms and a deepened democratic system would command a major aspect of his mission at the Senate.

The Senator-elect said that he would link up with senators to call attention to the mindless rape of the Niger Delta environment by the multinational oil companies.

Read Also:  Ondo Guber election results collation [Live Updates]

Chief Dickson noted that he would also focus attention on Police, law and order, and justice sector reforms.

Average Rating

5 Star
4 Star
3 Star
2 Star
1 Star

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: