Hajiya Sadiya Farouk File photo: Pope Benedict XVI File photo: Pele File photo: George Obiozor File photo: FCTA demolish illegal structures
Health and beauty category
0 0
Kindly Share This Story:
Read Time:1 Minute, 27 Second

The Federal Government has ordered the reopening of schools on October 12 after six months of closure due to COVID19 pandemic.

The Education Minister, Adamu Adamu, disclosed this in a briefing in Abuja on Friday, said after due consultation with the Presidential Committee on COVID-19, “We have decided that all our 104 Unity Colleges should reopen on the 12th of October, 2020.”

“States and private school owners will work out the modalities for the opening of schools Under their purview,”

The minister explained that the painful but necessary decision of not reopening schools all these while was to ensure that the curve of infection rate is flattened and that it is safe to reopen schools.

“Having taken that painful but necessary decision, government has not rested on its oars in the areas of consultation with stakeholders, putting together guidelines for reopening of schools and preparations required of school owners to reopen,” he said.

Read Also:  Update: Panic as A-three storey building collapses in kano

He warned that any school that failed to comply with guidelines, risk closure.

The Minister therefore urged school owners to ensure social distancing procedures, develop and display at schools and conduct risk assessment with a view to understanding the gaps in the system.

Other measures include, safety and hygiene in all stages and phases of the school reopening process which promote behaviours that reduced spread and establish a staff/students Committee for regular surveillance, monitoring and enforcement of COVID 19 guidelines,” he added.

Government had ordered the closure of schools following the outbreak of coronavirus pandemic in the country in March and only allowed exit classes in secondary schools to resume in August for their terminal examination.

Many states including Lagos, Oyo, Kano and Enugu, have since announced dates for the reopening of schools in their states.

Average Rating

5 Star
4 Star
3 Star
2 Star
1 Star

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share Article:

%d bloggers like this: